WE DON’T JUST EARN
WITH SECURE USED SOFTWARE
BUT CUSTOMER TRUST AS WELL.

Case Nehlsen AG EN

Nehlsen Relies on Used Software from Preo
Centralisation, conversion, standardisation – in IT, this is almost always associated with high costs. Software licences that have to be procured for conversion and standardisation processes can be very expensive with the software manufacturer.

Nehlsen AG, who were striving to align their Office applications, were not able to get the required licences with the manufacturer in the first place. Axel Plaßmeier, Systems and Networks manager knew about the option of acquiring predecessor releases. However, he and his managers were still cautious about the alternative form of procurement.

“There were prejudices due to media reports”, according to Plaßmeier. However, the interest remained, precisely because the financial frameworks could be adhered to. “When looking at all providers more closely, it became clear that PREO Software AG is the better partner for us. They are the only ones that guarantee a transparent licence transfer”, according to Plaßmeier.

Initial Project Leads to 265,000 Euros Worth of Savings
In the first project, approx. 500 workstations were equipped with Microsoft licences from PREO.In doing so, Nehlsen AG bought Windows products, various applications, CALs and servers, amongst other things. In this case, the origin of licences was fully disclosed: a part of the volume licences came from BenQ Mobile insolvency Enterprise Agreement, another part was OEM licences. “PRO AGs staff won me over from a personal and professional standpoint”, said Plaßmeier. However, not only expenditure decreased due to purchasing used software.

In addition, licences that were no longer required by PREO were accepted as payment. Amongst other things, Nehlsen AG was able to sell parts of a select contract, OPEN and OEN licences to PREO. The amount saved at that time was 265,000 euros in total.

PREO Licence Transfer Passes Manufacturer Audit
Even an audit from one of Microsoft’s contracted international auditing firms, was positive. Particularly endorsed has been PREO’s process during the licence transfer by disclosing the chain of rights, Plaßmeier pointed out: “That’s why there are no issues in this case.” The positive audit experience substantiated Nehlsen AG’s decision, “I had no qualms about buying PREO’s licences at any time. The result of the audit also validated that for me.”, said Plaßmeier.

On Steady Ground with PREO for Ten Years
– over 6,000 Licences – 450,000 Euros Saved
Nehlsen is so impressed by PREO’s transparent, smooth transfer, that PREO has been their first port of call since 2006. To this day, the company can achieve more than just financial advantages. If a costly expansion needs standardisation, an update procurement or an update of existing releases, Nehlsen buys at any time according to their requirements: It doesn’t matter if the software is still offered by the manufacturer or not. Starting with early predecessor releases such as Office 2003 up to Office that is currently used and the respective server applications, the business consistently relies on PREO.

The initial project alone led to 260,000 euros worth of savings.To this day, Nehlsen has bought well over 6,000 licences for almost 650,000 euros in total. As a comparison, new licences would have cost well in the region of 1,100,000 euros. As a result, the saving is 42 percent on average.

“I recommend every company to utilise the efficiencies from Software Remarketing”, said Plaßmeier, and confirms the benefits when buying used software – particularly if you need to standardise, bring in additions and align the software landscape.

Secure with the Safe3 System,
That’s Why PREO Is the Most Secure Provider
A decisive argument for the collaboration was and is the security that PREO offers. Firstly, the ‘Safe3 system guarantees you a complete chain of rights for all products acquired with PREO. Secondly, PREO licences stand up to every audit, as the in-house legal department checks all prerequisites required by law beforehand, for a flawless transfer. Thirdly, the ‘Safe3 system’ automatically safeguards against any transfer errors for up to 10 million euros.

    More links for you:

MIT SICHERER
GEBRAUCHTSOFTWARE VERDIENEN
WIR NICHT NUR GELD, SONDERN
AUCH KUNDENVERTRAUEN.

Case Nehlsen AG

Nehlsen setzt auf gebrauchte Software von PREO
Zentralisierung, Umbau, Standardisierung – das ist in der IT fast immer mit hohen Kosten verbunden. Gebrauchte Softwarelizenzen, die für Umbau- und Standardisierungsprozesse beschafft werden müssen, können beim Softwarehersteller sehr teuer sein.

Die Nehlsen AG, die eine Harmonisierung ihrer Office-Anwendungen anstrebte, konnte die benötigten Lizenzen beim Hersteller gar nicht erst bekommen. Axel Plaßmeier, Leiter Systeme und Netze, wusste von der Möglichkeit Vorgänger-Releases gebraucht zu erwerben. Doch er und seine Vorgesetzten standen der alternativen Beschaffungsform zunächs noch verhalten gegenüber.

„Durch Medienberichte bestanden Vorurteile“, so Plaßmeier. Das Interesse aber blieb, gerade weil mit gebrauchter Software der finanzielle Rahmen eingehalten werden könnte. „Bei genauer Betrachtung aller Anbieter wurde deutlich, dass die PREO Software AG der bessere Partner für uns ist. Sie sind die einzigen, die eine transparente Lizenzübertragung gewährleisten“, so Plaßmeier.

Initialprojekt führte zu 265.000 Euro Einsparungen
Etwa 500 Arbeitsplätze wurden im ersten Projekt mit Microsoft Lizenzen von PREO ausgestattet. Dabei kaufte die Nehlsen AG unter anderem Windowsprodukte, diverse Applikationen, CALs und Server. Die Herkunft der Lizenzen wurde dabei komplett offengelegt: Ein Teil der Volumenlizenze stammte aus dem Enterprise Agreement der BenQ Mobile Insolvenz, ein anderer Teil waren OEM Lizenzen. „Die Mitarbeiter der PREO AG haben mich persönlich und sachlich überzeugt“, berichtet Plaßmeier. Doch die Ausgaben sanken nicht nur durch den Kauf der gebrauchten Software.

Zusätzlich wurden nicht mehr benötigte Lizenzen von der PREO Software AG in Zahlung genommen. Unter anderem konnte die Nehlsen AG Teile eines Select-Vertrages, OPEN und OEM Lizenzen an die PREO Software AG verkaufen. Die Einsparsumme lag damals insgesamt bei 265.000 Euro.

PREO Lizenztransfer besteht Hersteller Audit
Auch ein Audit, einer von Microsoft beauftragten internationalen Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft, verlief positiv. Besonders befürwortete wurde das Vorgehen von PREO beim Lizenztransfer unter Offenlegung der Rechtekette, stellte Plaßmeier heraus: „Hier gibt es daher keine Probleme“. Die positive Audit-Erfahrung bekräftigte die Nehlsen AG in ihrer Entscheidung: „Ich hatte zu keiner Zeit Zweifel an dem Kauf der Lizenzen von PREO. Hierin bestätigte mich auch das Ergebnis des Audits“, so Plaßmeier.

Seit 10 Jahren auf sicherem Kurs mit PREO – über 6.000 Lizenzen – 450.000 Euro gespart
Nehlsen ist so überzeugt von der transparenten, reibungslosen Übertragung, dass PREO seit 2006 erster Ansprechpartner ist. Bis heute kann das Unternehmen mehr als finanzielle Vorteile erzielen. Steht der kostengünstige Ausbau der Standardisierung an, eine Erweiterungbeschaffung oder ein Update bestehender Releases, kauft Nehlsen jederzeit bedarfsgerecht ein: Egal, ob Software vom Hersteller noch angeboten wird oder nicht. Angefangen mit früheren Vorgänger-Releases wie Office 2003 bis zum aktuell eingesetzen Office und entsprechenden Server-Anwendungen setzt das Unternehmen konsequent auf PREO.

Allein das Initialprojekt führte zu 260.000 Euro Einsparungen. Bis heute hat Nehlsen insgesamt weit über 6.000 Lizenzen für knapp 650.000 Euro gekauft. Zum Vergleich: Neue Lizenzen hätten gut 1.100.000 Euro gekostet. Damit liegt die Ersparnis bei durchschnittlich 42 Prozent.

„Ich empfehle jedem Unternehmen die Effizienzen aus dem Software Remarketing zu nutzen“, sagt Plaßmeier und bestätigt die Vorteile beim Kauf gebrauchter Software – gerade wenn es um Standardisierungen, Ergänzungen und Harmonisierungen der Software-Landschaft geht.

Sicher mit Safe3-System: Darum ist PREO der sicherste Anbieter
Entscheidendes Argument für die Zusammenarbeit war und ist die Sicherheit, die PREO bietet. Das „Safe3-System“ garantiert erstens eine lückenlose Rechtekette aller bei PREO erworbenen Produkte. Zweitens halten PREO-Lizenzen jedem Audit stand, da die hausinterne Rechtsabteilung im Vorfeld sämtliche rechtlich geforderten Voraussetzungen für einen einwandfreien Transfer prüft. Und drittens sichert das „Safe3-System“ automatisch bis zu zehn Millionen Euro gegen jegliche Transfer-Fehler ab.

    Weiterführende Links für Sie: